Ok this has been mentioned before, but since it is very important to me and to my users I am creating a unique thread for it.
The Deki handles simultaneous editing of a page by showing the following message to the last user who closes saves his/her edits.
You get to compare the differences by seeing your changes color coded alongside the changes that where made after your opened the page for editing.
This is experienced as very confusing to my users and myself, it is not clear which color codes apply to which changes. (this could be clarified in the above quoted message). If the user then wants to copy his/her own changes and then paste these changes into the old page, the user has to remove the color coding from the text.
This process becomes even more complex if a user has made major edits on (for example) a table with a lot of data. The user would have to spend a lot of time redoing their work which is very de-motivating as far as getting user to use the Wiki. It is also not fair to the users not to be warned before they start to edit a page that another user is editing the page, if they were warned they could make a choice to wait etc.
I am curious if anyone has good ideas on how this can be done in a more user-friendly manner.
SteveB suggested this:
I think this is a great idea... though the "merge-conflict" view would need some improvement. For example the possibility to save this view as the current page and then edit the conflicts.For page editing, we already merge overlapping edits when different sections were edited. But we can do better than that. The right approach, imo, is to merge changes from multiple editors seamlessly when possible and show a merge-conflict view when a problem was detected.
PBWIKI does this:
They let the user trying to edit a page that is being edited know another user is editing the page with the following example message:
This imo is great information. It tells me who is editing the page, so I could contact them. It also tells me how long they have been editing the page, which lets me know if it may be safe for me to edit the page. And it gives me the option to " Steal Lock" or remove the lock the other user has on the pages.SteveB [email@example.com] from 18.104.22.168 is currently editing this page but has been for more than five minutes (really 32 minutes). This means it's possible that they clicked 'Edit' without ever actually following through on an 'Update'. Do you want to steal the edit lock from this person? This may cause the other person's changes to be lost.
Any other suggestions?